Text Size

Current Size: 100%

Search Site

Whos who

Whos who

The Rural Development Department of Government, Maharashtra works for the overall development of rural regions in the state. The department works towards providing complete facilities to the people of villages. Its objectives are to provide clean, beautiful, and green villages, run a poverty eradication program through the Maharashtra State Rural Livelihoods Mission and provide shelter and shelter facilities under the Indira Awas Yojana. 

Through this department, various welfare schemes, programs for the development of rural areas, and for the citizens are implemented. Developmental works were also implemented through Local Government Institutions like District Council, Panchayat Samiti, and Grampanchayat. The goal of this department is to implement creative, comprehensive, and sustainable rural development through a strong Panchayatraj system.

Structure of Rural Development Department

At the Ministry level, RDD Minister along with MoS for RDD look after the work of the Rural Development Department. However, the Additional Chief Secretary looks after the administrative head of this department. There are three such organizations in the State Management Cell (Rural Housing Development), State Administration Cell (Maharashtra State Rural Livelihoods Campaign), State Management Room (Panchayatiraj) for Rural Development Department. Deputy commissioners (development) in the offices of the divisional commissioners of Konkan, Pune, Nashik, Aurangabad, Amravati and Nagpur in the state and Deputy Commissioner (Establishment). In addition, the elected representative and administrative machinery in the Zilla Parishad, 34 Zilla Parishads, 351 Panchayat Samitis, and approximately 28,000 Gram Panchayat local bodies, look after the basic amenities and development works.

District Council of the State

Konkan Division- Thane, Palghar, Raigad, Ratnagiri, Sindhudurg

Nashik Division – Nashik, Dhule, Nandurbar, Jalgaon, Ahmednagar

Pune Division – Pune, Satara, Kolhapur, Sangli, Solapur

Aurangabad Division- Aurangabad, Jalna, Osmanabad, Beed, Latur, Nanded, Parbhani, Hingoli

Amravati Division-  Amravati, Akola, Buldhana, Washim, Yavatmal

Nagpur Division – Nagpur, Bhandara, Gondia, Chandrapur, Wardha, Gadchiroli

The Chief Executive Officer works at the district level i.e Zilla Parishad; Block Development Officers (BDOs) work at Taluka level and Gramsevak officers work at the Gram Panchayat level. 

For information about Zilla Parishad in Maharashtra and Panchayat Samiti, and Gram Panchayat, click on the link below.